Legendary Referee Confirms Orlando Pirates’ Controversial Penalty.
Orlando Pirates emerged victorious over Sekhukhune United in the Nedbank Cup final, securing a 2-0 win in a highly contested match at Loftus Versfeld. However, it was the questionable penalty awarded to Orlando Pirates just before halftime that stirred controversy and raised concerns of favoritism towards the Soweto giants.
Following the game, people continued to debate the legitimacy of the penalty and accused the referee of bias.
To provide clarity on the matter, legendary referee Victor “The Principal” Hlungwani stepped forward to explain the sequence of events leading up to the penalty incident in the Nedbank Cup Final.
Hlungwani clarified that Sekhukhune United’s Victor Letsoalo was not fouled but rather went down on his own in his team’s 18-yard area. While on the ground, Letsoalo was seen holding his leg, and at that moment, his hand was in a natural position.
“Unfortunately, when Lorch [Thembinkosi Lorch] approaches, Letsoalo’s hand suddenly moves, and he makes contact with the ball using his fingertips. At this point, the hand is no longer in a natural position, and Lorch creates the incident. Therefore, the referee made the correct call in awarding a penalty,” explained Hlungwani.
While Thembinkosi Lorch’s actions can be acknowledged as smart play in creating the penalty, it is also important to consider the principles of fair play outlined by FIFA.
Questions have been raised about the lack of sportsmanship in not kicking the ball out of play when a player is injured.
The referee typically stops play when there is a head injury.
Congratulations are in order for the Buccaneers for their impressive performance and securing a double victory.
The clarification provided by Victor Hlungwani sheds light on the penalty incident, allowing us to gain a better understanding of the situation.